RSS

Dorian Gray

23 Nov

When London artist Basil Hallward (Ben Chaplin) paints a portrait of the young and beautiful Dorian Gray (Ben Barnes), the subject is so taken with his own image that he declares he’d do anything to keep his looks — even if it meant selling his soul. The plot thickens when his wish is granted, but even the painting can’t mask the true nature of Dorian’s inner beauty. Colin Firth co-stars in this period drama based on the novel by Oscar Wilde. (Netflix)

I’ve never actually read the book, but I have always been intrigued by the story line. So, when I saw that there was a movie version + Colin Firth, I had to watch it. Overall, I really enjoyed it. Like I said, I never read the book, so I am not a good judge when it comes to accuracy. However, from a strict movie standpoint, I thought it was well done. The special effects are great, especially with the portrait. Ben Barnes is great as Dorian, and not hard to look at either. Colin Firth is of course fantastic and Henry, Dorian’s mentor. However, I feel like the characters Sibyll and Emily, the two great loves of his life, are underdeveloped. This version focuses heavily on sex and violence, mostly sex, which are the things that Dorian eventually succumbs to. If anything, this movie made me want to read the book. Yay. 😀

7/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
