RSS

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

23 Nov

Modern and mythical worlds collide in this thunderous fantasy-adventure starring Pierce Brosnan, Kevin McKidd and Uma Thurma as you’ve never seen them before! Percy Jackson is no ordinary teenager…he’s just learned he’s the son of Poseidon and is accused of stealing Zeus’ lightning bolt-the most powerful weapon ever created! With storm clouds brewing, Percy embarks on an incredible cross-country journey to prove his innocence, recover the bolt and prevent a war amongst the gods that could destroy our world! (DVD)

I’ll be honest, I didn’t have the highest expectations for this movie. Mostly just because for my love of the Harry Potter series and people saying that this one could replace it. But, I had a few friends who said the movie is good, so I figured, why not? I’ll forewarn you though, I did not read the book, so I can’t make any comparisons from book to movie. So, based on purely the movie itself, overall, this was an enjoyable movie. It had its pluses and minuses though. I’ll start with the minuses. Some of the dialogue was super corny, especially during battle sequences. Second was just honest believability. Yeah, yeah, I know it’s a fantasy movie. But as the DVD summary says, the modern and mythical worlds are together. Meaning, the modern part has to be believable. And I’m sorry, I don’t care if they are demigods, I don’t get how they can drive from New York, to somewhere in Pennsylvania, to Nashville, to Las Vegas, then to LA, all while making pit stops in between. Like spending at least a day in Nashville, 5 in Vegas, then some time in LA, all in 10 days. The drive alone straight through without stops would take around 2 days. I know, it’s nitpicky, but it was annoying. Lastly, I won’t give it away, but I knew who the real lightning thief was about 20-30 minutes in the movie (when Hades appears in the campfire) so. yeah. Ok, enough negativity, onto the pluses. The special effects were really quite impressive, with the various creatures, people flying, walls of water, very cool. Also, it was just really fun to see actors such as Kevin McKidd, Sean Bean, Uma Thurman, Rosario Dawson, Pierce Brosnan, and Melina Kanakaredes play these mythical gods and goddesses, such as Poseidon, Zeus, Medusa, Persephone, a centaur, and Athena (respectively), these characters that we only ever read about. Overall, it was a fun movie. I look forward to seeing the second one that was just announced.

7/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
