RSS

I Am Number Four

25 Nov

Three are dead. Who is Number Four? From director D.J. Caruso (Disturbia), producer Michael Bay (Transformers) and writers of TV’s Smallville comes this gripping action packed thriller. John Smith (Alex Pettyfer) is an extraordinary teen masking his true identity to elude a deadly enemy sent to destroy him. Living with his guardian (Timothy Olyphant) in the small town he now calls home. John encounters unexpected, life changing events-his first love (Dianna Agron, TV’s Glee), powerful new abilities and a secret connection to the others who share his incredible destiny. Complete with bloopers and more, I Am Number Four is an explosive, suspense filled ride that will take you to the edge of your seat ad beyond. (DVD)

Let me just say this now. I am pleasantly surprised about how much I liked this movie. I wasn’t expecting much, a decent movie, but nothing great, and I ended up really liking it. It was a quickly paced teen action movie-I’m not going to lie, there are total elements of typical teen romcom all over this, but they did a good job of blending it with an interesting action/suspense story line. Acting was good, nothing award worthy or anything, but Dianna Agron’s character and performance as Sarah was a really nice foil to Teresa Palmer’s character and performance as Number Six. Alex Pettyfer was lucky to work with two talented actresses. He did a nice job, like I mentioned earlier, nothing crazy, but he did look good, I will say that. The action scenes were really well done with some really cool special effects, especially the ending battle scene-really well done. Now, everyone, brace yourselves, because you may never hear me say this ever again-I actually want to see a sequel. I want to see where they can take this story. Will the remaining of the nine get together? Can John stay with Sarah? Can Sarah deal with having an alien boyfriend? Will Sam get his dad back? How much did Number Six’s really sweet motorcycle cost? Seriously though, I would like to see where the creators could take this one. An enjoyable movie that is half action flick, half teen romance, all good movie.

8.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
