RSS

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

25 Nov

The final battle for Middle-earth begins. Frodo and Sam, led by Gollum, continue their dangerous mission toward the fires of Mount Doom in order to destroy the One Ring. Aragorn struggles to fulfill his legacy as he leads his outnumbered followers against the growing power of the Dark Lord Sauron, so that the ring-bearer may complete his quest. (DVD)

Wow. What an amazing end to an amazing trilogy. Seriously, enough good things cannot be said about this movie. The acting is fantastic, the special effects are amazing, it didn’t drag, considering it was an over three hour movie. This movie completely and totally deserved any and all Oscars it won. It was scary, sad, thrilling, funny, all of these things rolled up into one. Also, I am officially in love with Ian Mckellan and Gandalf. Complete BADASS. No doubt about it. Same with Viggo Mortensen/Aragorn and Miranda Otto/Eowyen. (Also, on an unrelated side note, Eowyen and Faramir totally got together, so obvious at the end haha) Also, I forgot to mention it in the last movie, but how they edited for the scenes where Smeagoel/Gollum talks to himself is simply brilliant. They really made it look like there were two people talking, extremely well done. Now, I will admit, I didn’t watch this movie completely through. I shut my eyes during the spider scene. haha I have arachnophobia, so that scene scared the living shit out of me, I was looking through my hands and swearing the whole time…yeah not a good time. Anyway, back to the rest of the movie, how everything wrapped up was really well done. Honestly, I didn’t want it to end, every time it faded to black/white in about the last 20 minutes, I would hope that it wasn’t the end and that there was still more. I found out on IMDb that they did a “where are they now” type deal with Cate Blanchett’s character narrating, and they even filmed portions for Legolas and Gimli, but it didn’t make the cut, I wish I could have see that. Anyway, a fantastic movie that is a perfect ending the the LOTR trilogy.

9.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
