RSS

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part Two

27 Nov

In the second installment of the two-part conclusion to the überpopular Harry Potter series, Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) and his best friends, Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson), continue their quest to vanquish the evil Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) once and for all. Just as things begin to look hopeless for the young wizards, Harry discovers a trio of magical objects that endow him with powers to rival Voldemort’s formidable skills. (Netflix)

So. Honestly, I could go on about this movie for forever. I’m not even kidding. What a phenomenal ending to a phenomenal story, a story that has been with many of us since we were old enough to read (I know that’s how it started for me). It honestly really was bittersweet for me, this being the final movie and all. But enough of me being emotional. I may be slightly biased, but I thought it was amazing. Yes, there were changes from the book, but honestly, I was ok with almost all of them. (Why didn’t they put in “say hello to professor longbottom for me?” ah favorite epilogue line) To me, movies based on books are no carbon clone copies of their inspiration. If they were, they would be pretty damn boring, and there would be no need for a screenplay writer, or directors, etc. The movies are supposed to put a creative spin on those originals, while still remaining faithful. I thought this movie did a perfect job of that. Going in, I was a little worried it would be all doom and gloom, as the last half of the book is, but the movie did a nice job of throwing in some sentimental and comedic moments that really helped lift the mood in what otherwise was a rather somber movie. Honestly, it was sad seeing actors such as Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Maggie Smith, Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman, Tom Felton, Matt Lewis, and others taking on those iconic roles one last time. But, that tone of finality really struck a chord and only made all of their performances that much stronger. The Battle of Hogwarts was done very well. I actually liked seeing only snippets of the battle, then having Harry walk in and have the audience discover along with Harry the terrible damage that had been done, it was a very powerful moment. Now, from a huge fangirl perspective, I cried about four or five times, and was a complete hot mess at the end. I don’t know, I guess I just felt like I grew up with these characters then everything in the epilogue coming in full circle just turned me to tears. So. I’m going to stop rambling now. But, I can honestly say that I laughed, I cried, and that no matter what, I will always remember the fantastic magical journeys that J.K. Rowling and Harry Potter took me on. Thank You.

10/10 How could I give it anything less?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part Two

  1. Jeyna Grace

    November 27, 2012 at 8:12 am

    10/10 is adequate. I dont see why anyone should give it less.

     

Leave a Reply

 
