RSS

Requiem for a Dream

27 Nov

Darren Aronofsky follows up his acclaimed debut Pi with this gritty emotionally charged film set amidst the abandoned beaches and faded glory of Coney Island, Brooklyn. Based upon the novel by celebrated author Hubert Selby Jr., the story intricately links the lives of a lonely widowed mother (Academy Award Winner Ellen Burstyn), her son Harry (Jared Leto), his girlfriend (Jennifer Connelly) and his best friend Tyrone (Marlon Wayans). Requiem for a Dream is a hypnotic tale of four human beings each pursuing their vision of happiness. Even as everything begins to fall apart, they refuse to let go, plummeting with their dreams into a nightmarish, gut wrenching freefall. (DVD)

Well. This is one weird ass movie. I haven’t even decided if I liked it yet. That’s how weird it was. I will say, Darren Aronofsky definitely has his own visual style, and apparently likes to do films about people on a downward spiral (coughBlackSwancough). This was definitely interesting. Extremely gritty, disgusting, and real. The visuals are pretty cool, I must say, very quick, very unnerving, and there are parts where you feel like you are high along with the characters. Honestly, I feel like I can’t even explain this well enough. I will say, the acting performances in this movie are as gritty and daring as the visual style, and the four leads all deliver powerful performances. Like I said, I still haven’t decided if I liked this movie yet. But honestly, if you don’t want kids doing drugs, have them watch this movie. Forget DARE programs. This movie is the scary reality of the drug world.

???/10 Like I said…I honestly don’t know…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
