RSS

Brave

07 Dec

braveDetermined to make her own path in life, Princess Merida defies a custom that brings chaos to her kingdom. Granted one wish, Merida must rely on her bravery and her archery skills to undo a beastly curse. (IMDb)

First initial thought: adorable. The animation is absolutely stunning. I could sit and just watch that. It was beautifully done. The voice cast is impressive, and I love that they kept the Scottish accents rather than Americanizing it. Did I mention the animation? The thing is though, that’s all you truly remember coming out of this one. When it comes to the story, overall, it’s a touching story of mothers and daughters, following your own path, and of breaking traditions. I just don’t think the details of that story were fully fleshed out. I just don’t understand how turning your mother into a bear changes your fate. Of course, these are all things I thought about afterward. While watching, I was wrapped up in the animation, the story of Merida and her mother’s relationship, which was wonderfully done and very realistic. (I cried three times. Maybe because my mom was sitting next to me, but the scenes with those two were fantastic.) And I was wrapped up in the comedic relief, a.k.a. the men of the movie, mainly her father Fergus and her three triplet brothers. Basically, although not Pixar’s best effort, storywise, everything else makes this one worth watching.

8/10

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Brave

Leave a Reply

 
