RSS

Watchmen

07 Dec

watchmenIn an alternate 1985 where former superheroes exist, the murder of a colleague sends active vigilante Rorschach into his own sprawling investigation, uncovering something that could completely change the course of history as we know it. (IMDb)

So, I really wanted to like this. I’m a fan of director Zack Snyder (I loved 300, and I loved Sucker Punch even more). Plus I love the whole concept of turning graphic novels into movies, the visual style of it is always fascinating to watch. And there were some parts I did like. Really liked the beginning credits, they established the world really well, especially for people who haven’t read the graphic novel (guilty). I loved seeing how having these people around altered history, even if only slightly. And I absolutely loved Jeffrey Dean Morgan as The Comedian, he was awesome. And, the visual style was pretty cool. However, as a whole, I just couldn’t get into it. It is long. (2 hours and 42 minutes to be exact). And some parts are really dragged out. And though the ending was interesting, there were just too many twists and turns and it took too long to get there. Maybe it would have been different if I had read it. There were parts that probably would have been more meaningful if I had read it. But to me, a good adaptation is supposed to broaden the fan base and get more people to look at the original source. To do that, it has to be done so a new audience member has to be able to fully understand it while giving enough to the devoted fan base. This one leaned more towards the latter.

5/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Watchmen

  1. Issy R.

    December 7, 2012 at 11:32 am

    Love the Watchmen its Snyders best film. The film does drag a little at some points but still ends up one of the best comic book adaptions.

     
    • jeleff11

      December 7, 2012 at 5:37 pm

      Sucker Punch is my favorite Snyder film. I may be a little gender biased though haha

       

Leave a Reply

 
