RSS

The Birdcage

26 Dec

the birdcageA gay cabaret owner and his drag queen companion agree to put up a false straight front so that their son can introduce them to his fiancée’s right-wing moralistic parents.(IMDb)

So one of my roommates has been trying to get me to watch this for like a year, so last night I did. And I’m really glad I did. It was absolutely hilarious. Robin Williams and Nathan Lane together are perfect. The two of them delivered the best parts of the whole movie. They had their fair share of both comedic and really heartfelt moments. Gene Hackman and Dianne Weist are also quite funny as Barbara’s parents. Then there is Hank Azaria as Agadoor, the maid. He also had some of the best moments in the movie. He was absolutely hilarious. Throughout the movie as a whole, I loved the contrast between the Ohio right wing conservative culture and the South Beach gay culture. It was really well done, especially with the costumes. Overall, a really funny movie that I’m glad my roommate suggested.

8/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
