RSS

True Grit

04 Jan

true gritAfter drifter Tom Chaney (Josh Brolin) murders her father, 14-year-old Mattie Ross (Hailee Steinfeld) hires alcoholic U.S. Marshal Reuben “Rooster” Cogburn (Jeff Bridges) to help her exact revenge. The disreputable lawman still has grit, though, and mounts an epic search. Joining the duo on their quest is a Texas Ranger (Matt Damon) who’s also hunting for Chaney in this updated Western that received multiple Oscar nods, including Best Picture. (Netflix)

So. To start with, I don’t like Westerns. Nothing wrong with the genre, it’s just not my thing. But everyone was all like “watch this it’s brilliant ah!” so, I did. And…I still don’t like Westerns. This was just vaguely boring to me. It also probably didn’t help that I could barely understand half of what was coming out of Jeff Bridges’ mouth. And then Matt Damon’s character just made me laugh, with the whole Texas Ranger bit, with the spurs and everything. And there was this random bad guy, who only communicates in animal noises? Yeah…that wasn’t really explained. Now, what I did Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie. She was really impressive. She handled the clunky, old fashioned language really well, and I really liked her character overall. I really can’t wait to see what she does next. Overall though, this movie didn’t convert me.

4/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
