RSS

The Cider House Rules

09 Jan

the cider house rulesA surrogate son and protege to a kindly physician who runs an orphanage in rural Maine, itchy Homer Wells sets off wide-eyed to see the world — but cold reality soon intrudes on his youthful idealism and moral certitude. (Netflix)

So, I’ve been told to watch this for years. And I finally did. And, I…liked it. My life wasn’t changed or anything. I thought the acting was really strong, from everyone on a whole. Loved Paul Rudd, Charlize Theron, Michael Caine, minus the American accent. I wasn’t convinced. I liked Tobey Maguire, but I don’t know, I got this creepy vibe from him that I didn’t quite like, but other than that, he was good. I really liked Erik Per Sullivan and Kieran Culkin as two of the kids at the orphanage. And plot wise, I thought it really sad and it moved slowly. And yeah, so this didn’t really rise above my expectations.

4/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
