RSS

Warrior

21 Jan

warriorSet in the violent world of mixed martial arts combat, this gritty drama follows two brothers at war with each other, who have pursued separate lives. But preparation for a championship bout soon leads the siblings back into each other’s paths. (Netflix)

So, I go into this thinking it’s going to be a typical fighting movie. And it is. However, I loved it. I’ve always appreciated movies from this genre before (The Fighter, Cinderella Man, etc.) But, I thought this movie was fantastic. This is mostly thanks to the acting from Nick Nolte, Tom Hardy, and Joel Edgerton. Nolte’s performance as the dad was fantastic, and completely heart breaking. Then, Tom Hardy and Joel Edgerton were great foils for each other, and they were fascinating to watch. The fight scenes are extremely well choreographed, and a lot of fun to watch, I was on the edge of my seat for them. The other side of this movie is about this fractured family and how they move on in different ways, which gives this movie the heart that it needs. I loved seeing Jennifer Morrison as the wife, it was something different from what I’ve seen of her and I thought she was great. The only downside are the typical fight movie cliches. (The underdog succeeding, having a huge reason to need the money and that being a factor in that success, the training montage, etc.) However, this movie somehow transcends those cliches, making it possibly my favorite fight movie that I’ve ever seen.

9/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
