RSS

Fright Night

05 May

fright nightA teenager suspects that his new neighbor is a vampire. (IMDb)

Now, I’m not crazy about horror movies. There are just not my thing. Especially horror remakes, since those normally suck. But, the cast list is impressive, so I gave it a shot. And actually, I liked it. The movie actually follows all the traditional “rules” of vampires (wooden stake, can’t enter a house without being invited, etc.) instead of breaking them and then finding a dumb excuse for breaking them, so that I respected. Also, there was a fun tongue in cheek self awareness it, which was nice. The cast didn’t let me down. Colin Farrell is actually really scary, he pulls off the role really well. Anton Yelchin, Toni Collette, Imogen Poots, and Christopher Mintz-Plasse are all really good as well. But, David Tennant kind of stole it for me. I don’t know, maybe it’s because I’m a fan of his already, but I thought he was hilarious and I loved him. Random side note, Sofia Vergara’s younger sister is in this, and you can tell immediately that they are related, it was kind of funny. Now, that being said there were a couple of downsides. I thought it got a little slow in the last hour. I was basically sitting there waiting for the big final showdown, and there were like three separate fights leading up to it, and I was getting a little bored. The big hole for me though, was that Farrell’s character started getting sloppy. Killing people in the middle of the street, and on camera, dozens of people going missing, and nobody questions anything. They tried to make this whole “they live in Vegas, it’s a transit city” excuse, but it just didn’t work for me. In the end though, this is a decent remake that has a few scares in it and is worth it for the cast.

6.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
