RSS

Margin Call

09 May

margin callFollows the key people at an investment bank, over a 24-hour period, during the early stages of the financial crisis. (IMDb)

So…I think this was a compelling drama. I’m not entirely sure. Honestly, I had no freaking idea what was going on. All I understood throughout the entire movie was that people were losing their jobs in droves and the company was about to lose a lot of money, so they were trying to sell everything. Other than that, there was a lot of business jargon that was like a foreign language to me. There were like five points in the movie where a character would ask “explain it in English, like you’re talking to a child” stuff like that. And I would think “thank god, maybe I can finally understand what is going on” and nope. Nothing. More business jargon. So, yeah, I was confused as to the actual story this whole movie. Now, that being said, I was still somewhat interested. This is thanks entirely to the characters. Yes, I never understood what the actual problem was, but, what I did understand was their feelings about it, the characters conveyed to me how much trouble the company was in, which was helpful. The ensemble was impressive. I loved Zachary Quinto as the rocket scientist turned analyst, I also really enjoyed Stanley Tucci, Kevin Spacey, Paul Bettany, and Demi Moore. Then there was poor Penn Badgley. There was nothing wrong with his performance, there was just literally no point to his character. At all. He just followed everyone around all night. Something else I enjoyed was the cinematography. There were some really cool shots in between scenes that helped break up some of the more stagnant scenes where people were just sitting and talking. The first 45 minutes of this movie fly by, but the second half drags a little. Overall, though the acting is good, it’s just not worth sitting and watching a story that takes place in a world that you don’t understand, and the writers don’t help you try to understand it.

3.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
