RSS

Star Trek Into Darkness

18 May

star trek into darknessAfter the crew of the Enterprise find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization, Captain Kirk leads a manhunt to a war-zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction. (IMDb)

So. I go into this having finished the ’09 Star Trek only an hour and a half beforehand. And I really enjoyed the first one so I was looking forward to seeing this new one. And overall, it didn’t disappoint. Having the whole cast back again was great. Anton Yelchin was more adorable, Simon Pegg was even more funny, Zachary Quinto was as awesome as ever, I think this cast works great together. Prize for casting though goes to Benedict Cumberbatch as Khan, the villain. Holy crap was he good. He was a scary evil villain, but yet I liked him. I thought he was great. I liked the different twists and turns that this one took. Things would happen and I would just be like “wait they can’t do that.” But then I remember that this is in an entirely separate universe so they can actually do whatever they want. I will say, did anyone else notice different shots, moments, that were just like other movies? I got Avengers, Titanic, and Inception on three different occasions. I wonder if those were on purpose or not. Regardless, this was still really entertaining and I enjoyed it a lot.

8/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Star Trek Into Darkness

  1. Pearl

    May 23, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    Good you didn’t watch a few movies first since, from what I read, it just rehashes the old plots and scenes while breaking the rules of say, how the ship works.

     
    • jeleff11

      May 23, 2013 at 7:40 pm

      Yes, I did hear that as well. I know they basically gave themselves permission to break the rules with the whole alternate universe thing, but for someone like me, who is totally new to the whole world of Star Trek, I didn’t notice anything majorly wrong. But I guess I would be reacting differently if something like this was done to Harry Potter, or something else that I am a major fan of! So I guess it just depends on what you have seen already haha

       

Leave a Reply

 
