RSS

Star Trek

18 May

star trekThe brash James T. Kirk tries to live up to his father’s legacy with Mr. Spock keeping him in check as a vengeful, time-traveling Romulan creates black holes to destroy the Federation one planet at a time. (IMDb)

To start with, I know nothing about Star Trek. Never watched it, no trekkies in the family or anything. I heard this movie could stand on its own (plus a friend wanted me to go see the second one) so I watched it. And, I actually really liked it. It does a really solid job of explaining things to newbies like me while still being fairly quickly paced. Also, doing the whole alternate reality thing is a great way to leave all of the storylines open for fun new possibilities. The ensemble cast is really impressive, and I love how they all come together throughout the course of the movie. For me, Zachary Quinto as Spock was a total stand out. I thought he was absolutely fantastic. But no one in this movie was disappointing. I also loved the way everything was shot. There was a lot of movement, which kept everything visually interesting, but it wasn’t distracting, so I thought that was great. Also for a sci-fi action movie, it had some really funny moments in it. So yeah, I’m not a converted trekkie or anything, but I thought this movie was awesome.

8.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
