RSS

Tomboy

20 May

tomboyA 10-year-old girl, settling into her new neighborhood outside Paris, is mistaken for a boy and has to live up to this new identity since it’s too late for the mistake to be clarified. (IMDb)

I don’t know about this one. It actually just left me a little confused. Firstly, it was quite interesting. Seeing the lengths this girl will go to try and hide her actual identity. I almost wish I went into this completely blind, because the reveal that she is a girl doesn’t come until like 15 minutes in, and I wonder how that would have changed things for me if I didn’t know that she wasn’t a boy. Also, I loved how cool the parents were. They were totally loving and accepting of their daughter, but I think they were a little oblivious. The character I fell in love with was Jeanne, the little sister, played by Malonn Levana. She was the cutest six year old who was insanely wise beyond her years. My big problem with this whole thing, however, is that it doesn’t go anywhere. It’s just a bunch of scenes of kids playing different games, then Laure going home and hanging with her family. There’s no plot. It’s like we’re just watching their lives and the whole gender thing is a subplot in their lives. Which may have been intentional, but I got bored about an hour in. So, like I said, I just don’t know about this one. I don’t even know if it’s a commentary on gender, simply because nothing really happens. So for me, a really interesting story that fell short of actually being entertaining.

4/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Tomboy

  1. Pearl

    May 23, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    I’ve wanted to see this one but still haven’t. It’s paced European so no major dramas more life portraits.

     
    • jeleff11

      May 23, 2013 at 7:37 pm

      Yeah exactly! As my roommate put it, it’s “very French”. So, if you like the slice of life type of pacing, definitely see this one.

       

Leave a Reply

 
