RSS

Hugo

23 May

hugoSet in 1930s Paris, an orphan who lives in the walls of a train station is wrapped up in a mystery involving his late father and an automaton. (IMDb)

I am so used to seeing Martin Scorsese’s normal rated R movies, so this was a nice change. I really enjoyed this movie. The ensemble cast works extremely well together, it’s extremely visually interesting, and it’s really heartwarming story. Where I really got interested was in the last half of the movie, which turned into basically a love letter to movies, which I really enjoyed. Asa Butterfiled and Chloe Grace Moretz were charming as Hugo and Isabelle. The performance I liked the best though was Sacha Baron Cohen as the Station Inspector. I absolutely loved him. This is actually one of my favorite roles I’ve seen him in. I loved the way it was shot, especially the first 15 minutes. Starting from a sprawling 1930s skyline and zooming in on the train station, it was great to watch. Although the 3D and CGI effects were obvious, it didn’t distract too much. Overall, this is a charming family movie that is worth a watch.

7/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
