RSS

The Artist

25 May

the artistA silent movie star meets a young dancer, but the arrival of talking pictures sends their careers in opposite directions. (IMDb)

I’ve been wanting to watch this one forever, but never had a chance to. Saw it last night on Netflix, and done hit play. Anyway, I absolutely loved this. Back when it first came out, I didn’t know how the silent movie thing would work. But it totally works for this movie. You get everything you need from the cinematography and the actors faces and bodies. Yeah, they do the classic screenshot captions every once in awhile, but only when actually needed in order to understand what was going on. I loved the pair of Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo. They worked so well together. Dujardin totally deserved the Oscar. He had to pull the inception of being a silent movie actor in a silent movie, and you could totally see the difference between the character acting in the movies and the character just going through his life, and I thought he as fabulous. Bejo is absolutely gorgeous, you can’t stop looking at her when she’s on screen.  I loved her transition from extra to movie star, basically, I thought she was awesome. John Goodman and James Cromwell were also great to watch. Then there was Uggie the Dog. Who was the cutest thing ever, and practically stole the movie. Acting aside, I love how this movie was shot. There were some incredible shots in there, and I loved the fusion of today’s technology with the classic silent movie style. I also loved the small ways they played with the rules of silent movies using dream sequences, background music with lyrics, and more. In the end, I loved this, and is a movie every film lover should see.

9.5/10

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Artist

  1. robbinsrealm

    May 28, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    I agree with your take on the film. I thoroughly enjoyed watching it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
