RSS

Coriolanus

28 May

coriolanusA banished hero of Rome allies with a sworn enemy to take his revenge on the city. (IMDb)

I was looking forward to watching this one because it’s one of Shakespeare’s that I haven’t read. For the most part, I enjoyed it. The modern update works for the most part. There were a few times when I thought they were trying a little too hard. Like there was a subtitle saying that this took place in “A Place Calling Itself Rome” and other instances when I was like “ok I get it, this is an update”. The acting was very good. It was kind of the Ralph Fiennes show, which I guess makes sense. I mean, he was very good, so I’m not complaining too much. For as much as Gerard Butler was advertised about being in this movie, he wasn’t in it a whole lot, but I liked him as well. For me, it was the women I wanted to see more. Jessica Chastain played Coriolanus’ wife, and she was great to watch. Equal parts strong and vulnerable. A loyal wife who just wants her husband home. Then there is the powerhouse that is Vanessa Redgrave as his mother. Wow was she amazing. She had some of the most powerful scenes in the movie, I mean she had to, she is the character that has the most sway over her son’s actions. I was excited about going into this one blind, because I wanted to see how much of the story I actually got. I would say I got 70% of it. There were a few political things that I did not understand at all, but I followed everything for the most part, so that’s good script cutting there. Overall, this is a decent adaptation that deserved more attention than it got.

7/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
