RSS

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford

12 Jun

the assassination of jesse james by the coward robert fordRobert Ford, who’s idolized Jesse James since childhood, tries hard to join the reforming gang of the Missouri outlaw, but gradually becomes resentful of the bandit leader. (IMDb)

So…I don’t get it. Everyone lauded this movie as a masterpiece, but honestly, I was bored. This 2 and a half hour movie plods along at a snail’s pace. And I understand that the movie wasn’t really about all of the robberies, it was about the people, but the conversations seemed empty and meaningless. And the shift from Ford idolizing to hating Jesse was so gradual and drawn out, that I feel like I missed it, if that makes sense. What I will give it was that is was visually extremely well done. I really enjoyed all of the different camera angles and how certain colors stood out against the mostly brown and tan color scheme. I also thought Brad Pitt and Casey Affleck as Jesse James and Robert Ford turned in impressive acting performances. But, as engaging as they were, I was still struggling to pay attention during this.

5.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
