RSS

Edward Scissorhands

19 Jun

edward scissorhandsAn uncommonly gentle young man, who happens to have scissors for hands, falls in love with a beautiful teenage girl. (IMDb)

After watching Ed Wood earlier this week, it only seemed logical that I go back and watch the first Burton/Depp pairing, and after seeing it, quite possibly their best. Something Burton does that no one else has ever gotten quite right is the way he takes gothic/dark themes and somehow makes it not scary, but rather whimsical, and even light hearted at times. I loved the stark contrast between the cookie cutter pastels of the neighborhood versus the sprawling dark castle and Edward. This is one of my favorite Johnny Depp roles. A fantastic actor is someone who doesn’t need pages of dialogue to get their point across, and I’m pretty sure he never said more than 10 words a scene, and I loved him. I also enjoyed Winona Ryder playing something a little more innocent/naive in comparison to her other roles. My only complaint is I thought it spent so long in the “happy” place of the movie that when it all started to go wrong, it rushed a little to the finish. But honestly, it didn’t really detract me from how great this was. Overall, this is a classic that everyone should see, and I can’t believe I hadn’t seen it until now.

9.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
