RSS

Frailty

24 Jun

frailtyA man confesses to an FBI agent his family’s story of how his religious fanatic father’s visions lead to a series of murders to destroy supposed “demons.” (IMDb)

So everyone’s all like “ah this is a brilliant thriller/horror movie”. But I’m just like “meh”. I guessed the huge twist about 45 minutes in, and let’s face it, all of the “vision” shots/cinematography are cheesy. What I did like were Bill Paxton and Matthew McConaguhey’s performances. I thought the two of them were very good. The story itself was interesting enough, my problem is with the whole reveal of the people’s sins at the end. By doing that, they are saying that maybe these people aren’t totally crazy, but this whole time the audience has been led to believe that they are just completely crazy people. It could work as a plot twist, but it comes in so late in the game that it confuses rather than reveals. So, this was ok. Definitely scary, with a few good twists and turns, but I don’t think its as brilliant as everyone says it is.

4/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Frailty

  1. Issy R.

    June 25, 2013 at 12:17 am

    I would disagree. I wouldnt say its a brilliant movie but its a great gem that I feel most people dont know about.

     
    • jeleff11

      June 26, 2013 at 2:10 am

      I would agree with you that it’s definitely overlooked and should be seen at least once. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
