RSS

Norman

06 Jul

normanA troubled high-school kid pretending to be dying of cancer confronts problems with his new girlfriend and terminally ill father as he struggles with his daily existence. (IMDb)

…I don’t know about this one. To be honest, what turned me off about this one was that I did not like the main character. I didn’t know what his motivations were for his actions, especially when he says he has cancer. I had no idea why he did that. It kind of came out of nowhere. Dan Byrd was fine, especially when he finally confronts his problems, I just didn’t like the way the character was written. Emily VanCamp was cute and charming, but there wasn’t really much more to go on. Richard Jenkins pretty much saves this one. I thought his performance was heartbreaking and honest. What really did this one for me was it’s attempt to be darkly funny. It was the style of humor that was spot on in 50/50, but here was just plain dark and uncomfortable. Personally, I think this is one to skip.

3.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
