RSS

Lost in Translation

07 Jul

lost in translationA jaded film star and a neglected wife form an unlikely bond after meeting in Tokyo. (IMDb)

This is one I’ve been meaning for watch for awhile, mostly because it was ScarJo’s breakout performance. After watching it last night, I’m really glad I did. What I really liked was the overall feel of the movie. To me, the whole movie had this otherworldly, ethereal feel to it, which I loved. That’s of course thanks to director Sofia Coppola. The cinematography was also very good. I really liked how it captured the huge size and scope of Tokyo, but it also really captured the story that was happening between these two people as well. Speaking of the two people, these are some of my favorite performances out of Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson. They have this great unforced chemistry together that is really great. I also found both of the characters both likeable and unlikeable, as in there was an equal balance of both. Basically what I’m saying is that they came off as actual flawed human beings, instead of the heroes we’re supposed to root for. One more thing about the acting, why does Anna Faris not get more recognition for this movie? She brings a lightness to what otherwise would be a rather dark/dreary movie. She is really funny and is so underrated. My only complaints about this are nitpicky. It could be a little slow at times, and some scenes went on longer than needed for the story. Did we need like 20 minutes of partying and karoke? Eh not really (Although that is one of the places where I loved the cinematography). Other than that though, I really enjoyed this and would like to see it again.

8.5/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Lost in Translation

  1. bakedmoviereviews

    July 7, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    I reviewed this a while ago too and I agree that Anna Faris deserved more credit. I though she was pretty hysterical!

     
    • jeleff11

      July 8, 2013 at 7:37 pm

      I seriously think she is so underrated overall!

       

Leave a Reply

 
