RSS

A Dangerous Method

27 Jul

a dangerous methodA look at how the intense relationship between Carl Jung and Sigmund Freud gives birth to psychoanalysis. (IMDb)

Hm. This maybe should have stayed a play. Although this is well directed and acted, there’s something about it that seems missing. Honestly, one of the things that bothered me the most was that Keira Knightley at least tried to do an accent from the country her character was from. The men are Swiss and Austrian and Michael Fassbender and Viggo Mortensen both had British accents. So. That bothered me. Also, if you don’t have at least a basic knowledge of the beginnings of psychoanalysis and Freud’s theories, you will be lost. Because while it is interesting to see a conversation between these two fascinating men, it’s full of lingo that if you didn’t at least take high school psych, you’re done. And, I think in an attempt to fit the 1900s, some of the writing was a little clunky. Lastly, I wish they would have made Knightley’s character the focal point of this entire movie. She was absolutely fascinating, and someone history has forgotten about, yet deserves to have her story heard. Ok. I may sound like I’m ripping on this one, but I didn’t hate it. Like I said, this is extremely well directed and acted. And while at times it was a little uncomfortable to watch, I think that was an achievement. Some of the subject matter isn’t pleasant, and I for one would rather feel something rather than be completely desensitized. All of my rambling aside, this is interesting enough, but it’s not a favorite or anything.

5.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
