RSS

Monsters University

29 Jul

monsters universityA look at the relationship between Mike and Sulley during their days at Monsters University — when they weren’t necessarily the best of friends. (IMDb)

So, I took my seven year old cousin to see this movie yesterday. And honestly, I don’t know who was more excited, me or him. Anyway. I thought this was adorable. A really fun prequel to one of my favorite pixar movies. Was it as good as the first one? Nah not really. I missed Boo, my favorite character from the last one. But, there are a lot of fun new characters in this one, and with those new characters comes a lot of great actors behind those characters, such as Helen Mirren (whose character was actually quite scary), Sean Hayes, Charlie Day, Alfred Molina, Nathan Fillion, Aubrey Plaza, John Krasinski, and more. Something that this movie nailed was the college movie stereotype. I was one of the loudest laughers in the theatre, considering I was the only 20-something, and there was some really funny college related humor in there. The best part of this movie is seeing how everything originated. And for me, once the credits on this one finish, and you think about the events in Monsters Inc., they actually become a little more meaningful in a way. So, while this doesn’t quite live up to its predecessor, this is still a fun movie that any fan of the original will love.

8/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
