RSS

Anna Karenina

22 Oct

anna kareninaSet in late-19th-century Russia high-society, the aristocrat Anna Karenina enters into a life-changing affair with the affluent Count Vronsky. (IMDb)

For starters, I never read the book. Ok, I started the book, never finished it. So honestly, what drew me to this was pretty much just the names attached. But once I started watching, the real draw is Joe Wright’s concept, which he executed amazingly. The whole movie takes place on a stage. But not just on the stage, but under it, above it, in the house, in the lobby, everywhere imaginable. It’s brilliant. The way everything (the set, actors, etc.) moves seamlessly from one place to another is choreographed beautifully. (Also loved the choreography in the ball scene) The whole thing itself had the feel of a ballet. But what was also interesting is how as the movie progressed, it became less and less obviously theatrical. It still was, but you almost forgot about it at times. A few of us talked about if it was intentional, and what it meant. One of the downfalls is the story though for me. It took a lot to keep up with it normally, and with this at times I would be too busy watching the spectacle, and then play catch up on the story. Also, we paused it a few times to figure out who was related to who, who was in love with who, etc. While I did appreciate Tom Stoppard’s attempts to streamline the plot, and I did love his beautiful one liner quotes throughout the movie, the plot itself was still a little confusing. It also does lag a little in the second hour, and the ending felt like it was rushing a bit to tie up all of the plotlines. As for the acting, I loved it. Matthew Macfayden and Domhnall Gleeson both played characters that are different than their usuals, and I thought they were great. But, it really belonged to Keira Knightley, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, and Jude Law. I thought the three of them were brilliant. They played the characters in such a way that at times I felt bad for them, other times I sympathized, times I thought they were being stupid, and rooted for them other times. I mean, basically they were playing human beings. Overall, i have a lot of feelings about this. (As you can tell), but most of them are positive, and I think this is definitely worth watching.

8/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
