RSS

Return

06 Nov

returnA soldier returns to her family, friends, and old job after a tour of duty, though she finds herself struggling to find her place in her everyday life. (IMDb)

This was the longest hour and a half of my life. Mostly because I tried to watch it last night, got half way through, fell asleep, watched another chunk of it while drinking coffee this morning, and then finished the movie after I got back from classes. Let’s just say I wasn’t exactly on the edge of my seat during this one. Which sucks, because the story is interesting enough, Linda Cardellini and Michael Shannon are quite good, and there is a lot of potential here. The big thing that is missing from this is conflict. There is none. There is one scene of real conflict that doesn’t happen until there is about 45 minutes left in the movie. And there is so much POTENTIAL for conflict. Him sleeping with the girl from the car dealership (which is never really answered) Her getting a DUI (which I didn’t even get until she said she got one, I just thought she was falling asleep driving), Her trying to get pregnant so she doesn’t have to go back (Shit there’s an entire movie in that alone.) And it goes on. See what I mean? So much could have been done, but instead we had an hour and half of a woman wandering through her life. Which, yes I get that was kind of the point. But in the end, I wanted more.

4/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
