RSS

Titus

19 Nov

titusThis film is an adaptation of the Shakespeare play “Titus Andronicus.” Titus returns victorious from war, only to plant the seeds of future turmoil for himself and his family. Who says revenge is sweet? (IMDb)

So…I don’t know how I feel about this. I wanted to like this so badly. I really did. Great cast, Julie Taymor, Shakespeare, this should have been a home run. Yeah…I thought it was pretentious. Which sucks, because normally I love Julie Taymor. Where I normally love her crazy visuals, I thought they were too much. I think there was a concept beneath all of the craziness that was happening. Why was the little boy there? Is he from the time period? Why does he suddenly become the grandson? Was he always the grandson? Why was the last two minutes just him walking? Just…meh. The acting was fine in my opinion. Except Jessica Lange. She was more than fine. She killed it. But honestly, there’s better Shakespeare adaptations out there…I think I’ll just go watch She’s the Man now.

4/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
