RSS

Winter’s Bone

19 Dec

winter's boneAn unflinching Ozark Mountain girl hacks through dangerous social terrain as she hunts down her drug-dealing father while trying to keep her family intact. (IMDb)

This is one I’ve been meaning to watch for some time now. I consider myself a big Jennifer Lawrence fan, and this is what put her on the map, so I was really curious about it. Because honestly, the whole premise didn’t seem to interesting to me. But I was really wrong. There’s something in the simplicity of the story, of a girl trying to hold her family together, and the whole movie is just her searching for her father to do so. It’s beautiful in that way. You find yourself becoming more immersed in their world as more and more of the story unfolds, until the end when you are just as invested in this family as every other character in the movie. And those Oscar Nominations for Jennifer Lawrence and John Hawkes? Totally deserved. I loved both of their performances. The only difficulty I had at all was trying to keep everyone and who they were to the main character straight. There are a lot of different characters that are like pieces to the puzzle that Lawrence’s character is trying to solve. At times, I found myself thinking: wait who is that again? Do they like her or not, because I don’t remember. But other than that, I really enjoyed this. Would definitely recommend.

9/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Winter’s Bone

  1. indiefan20

    December 28, 2014 at 12:17 am

    Hi! I actually like the “Winter’s Bone” movie better than the book adaptation by Daniel Woodrell. The book was beautifully written, but I guess I just found the film more emotionally fulfilling. I got the feeling Ree and her siblings would ‘be okay,’ whereas in the book Ree was borderline abusive and the kids were ruffians (two boys, not a boy and a girl, as in the movie.) I also thought the book didn’t add much extra plot detail to make it really interesting after having already seen the movie. This is a really underrated movie even though Jennifer Lawrence is famous now so, frankly, it seems like more people should be watching it.

     
    • jeleff11

      December 28, 2014 at 5:15 pm

      Hello!
      Did the book or the movie come first? Just curious, as I had no idea there was even a book. (and if the opening credits say that it was based off of a book, I must have missed it! haha)
      I’m surprised more Jennifer Lawrence fans aren’t going back and watching this, because most fans will go back and watch an actor’s older work, and this was really her big break, so yeah I totally get what you’re saying.

       

Leave a Reply

 
