RSS

Sound of My Voice

03 Jan

sound of my voiceA journalist and his girlfriend get pulled in while they investigate a cult whose leader claims to be from the future (IMDb)

This was interesting. What was done really well was the ambiguity of the whole situation. Throughout the course of the movie, you end up questioning whether the cult leader, Maggie (a great performance from Brit Marling) is what she really says she is. Obviously, you go into it thinking that she is a fraud. But as the movie progresses, you start to question things, at the same times the characters do. I enjoyed Christopher Denham and Nicole Vicius as the leads, they both did a really nice job. I didn’t quite understand the significance or purpose of the titled numbers. I assumed they were chapters of some sort, but it didn’t really add anything. Also, one of the most interesting characters, a little girl named Abigail, isn’t expounded upon as much as I would have liked. I admit that this may have been on purpose, but I definitely wanted more. The whole movie is a really interesting and different look at cults and how they affect the people involved. I was engaged the whole time.

7/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
