RSS

The Deep Blue Sea

10 Jan

the deep blue seaThis remake of the original 1955 film, adapted from a Terence Rattigan play, stars Rachel Weisz as a wedded woman who falls hard for a younger man. Her determination and emotional obsession lead her into tragic conflict with the morals of the day. (Netflix)

I was curious about this one, because it’s gotten mixed reviews. I personally lean more towards the positive side. This is an interesting story, brilliantly acted. Rachel Weisz killed it. I loved her performance. It was really engaging, which is a plus because I didn’t like the character a whole lot. I found her really fickle, and it annoyed me how she was never satisfied. So while I may have never cared about the character, I still really enjoyed Weisz’s portrayal of her. Tom Hiddleston was a great match for her. He was charming, charismatic, and then he would flip on a dime. He not only handled his character shifts, he nailed them. The two of them together are really nice, they really know how to take time in a scene. Which is going to sound contradictory to my next thought, but the pace of this was very slow. It meanders from scene to scene, which works some of the time, but other times, it made me doze off. But this still is a pretty good romance drama if that’s what you’re looking for.

6/10

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “The Deep Blue Sea

  1. CMrok93

    January 10, 2014 at 6:33 am

    Weisz was amazing here and really dove into a role that made me feel like she could really be clinically-depressed. Good review.

     

Leave a Reply

 
