RSS

12 Years a Slave

26 Jan

12 years a slaveNominations: Best Picture, Leading Actor (Chiwetel Ejiofor), Supporting Actor (Michael Fassbender), Supporting Actress (Lupita Nyong’o), Directing (Steve McQueen), Film Editing, Production Design, Adapted Screenplay (John Ridley)

In the antebellum United States, Solomon Northup, a free black man from upstate New York, is abducted and sold into slavery. (IMDb)

Let me start this by saying that this is brilliant movie. But, I will say, it’s not a fun two hours. This is rough to watch, but it was so incredibly good. Every nomination is deserved. I can’t say enough. Chiwetel Ejiofor carries the whole film with ease, Lupita Nyong’o is absolutely heartbreaking, and Michael Fassbender is absolutely scary. The rest of the ensemble cast, from Benedict Cumberbatch to Paul Dano and everyone in-between is impressive as well. Something I caught at the end was the fact that the 12 years for me felt like just one long never ending year, which I hope was intentional, because at the end of the 12 years you realize how much he really missed. So, I put this movie in a category of movies like The Hurt Locker. I watch it, I’m emotionally not ok for a little bit afterwards, it’s brilliant and I love it, but I don’t think I want to watch it again. You know what I mean? But this is a must see. Go watch it now.

9/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
