RSS

Moonrise Kingdom

05 May

moonrise kingdomA pair of young lovers flee their New England town, which causes a local search party to fan out and find them. (IMDb)

This one is so long overdue, so I’m glad I got the chance to watch it last night. I really enjoy Wes Anderson movies, and this one was no exception. The focus on the two kids (wonderful debuts by Jared Gilman and Kara Hayward) gives this particular Anderson film a sense of innocence that’s just really lovely. The adult ensemble that Anderson assembled didn’t hurt either. I absolutely loved Edward Norton as the scout master and Tilda Swinton as Social Services. There were times where I thought to myself “where are we going to go with this next?” But I was always pleasantly surprised with the result. So, I think it’s safe to say that this definitely lived up to expectations.

9/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
