RSS

X-Men: Days of Future Past

29 May

xmen days of future pastThe X-Men send Wolverine to the past in a desperate effort to change history and prevent an event that results in doom for both humans and mutants. (IMDb)

Real talk, I’ve been looking forward to this since I first heard of its existence. Thankfully, it didn’t disappoint. In fact, I was completely entertained the entire time. The movie is well written, quickly paced, great acting, awesome special effects, the entire package. One of the things that hasn’t worked for past X-Men movies is trying to cram back story in for every single side character/try to get us to know every single one in a two hour movie. This one let the side characters (Evan Peters’ Quicksilver is a great example of this) come in for a few scenes, do their thing, and leave, leaving the audience wanting more. Speaking of the people in the movie, I can’t say enough about the spot on casting. I said in “X-Men: First Class” that James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender were perfectly cast, and they didn’t prove me wrong in this one. This one also gave the two of them a little more to chew on content wise, which was fantastic to watch. The returning actors (Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellan, Jennifer Lawrence, Halle Berry, Hugh Jackman, Nicholas Hoult, Shawn Ashmore, and Ellen Page to name a few) paired with the new characters (Peter Dinklage as Trask and Josh Helman as young Stryker are standouts) make for an extremely well acted superhero movie. Also, throw in some cameos that had me bouncing in my seat like a five year old and I was thoroughly entertained. Like I said earlier, the special effects are awesome, leading to some exciting fight (and surprisingly brutal) fight scenes that had be gasping out loud.

Ok. I do have a few complaints. Gasp, I know. They mostly have to do with the timeline. This movie is supposed to take place after X3 and First Class. So…how did we go from a Cure not working to complete Apocalypse? And how did we get from the end of First Class to where they are now? And exactly how many years have actually passed between X3/First Class and this? I missed out on some details because I was too busy trying to figure out the timeline of it all.

But other than that, I was so completely happy with this. It’s a return to form for the X-Men franchise and I certainly hope it stays in this vein.

9/10

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “X-Men: Days of Future Past

  1. Popcorn Whiskey

    May 29, 2014 at 7:12 am

    I think they said had been a few years since the school was open. I think they tied the first class well with the film, seeing as First Class ends with Charles getting shot, and Days of Future Past show a Charles who can’t accept his disability.

     
    • jeleff11

      May 29, 2014 at 3:30 pm

      Yeah, I was just trying to figure out the exact years since First Class took place in the 60s before JFK and now Nixon is president. My brain works in weird ways sometimes haha
      I totally agree with you on the Charles storyline. I absolutely loved that aspect. Charles having to choose whether he wanted his legs or his mind was a really nice touch. Throw in some great acting from McAvoy and that whole storyline was super compelling

       
  2. Jazmina

    June 5, 2014 at 11:02 am

    Thought the special effects were on point as well. Great review! Would you be interested in becoming a contributor to Moviepilot.com? Send me an email, jazmina@moviepilot.com, if you are interested. I hope to hear from you!

     
    • jeleff11

      June 5, 2014 at 3:28 pm

      Thanks!
      Sending an e-mail right now! Haha

       

Leave a Reply

 
