RSS

Magic Mike

10 Jun

magic mikeA male stripper teaches a younger performer how to party, pick up women, and make easy money. (IMDb)

I am not ashamed to admit that I watched this for one reason: naked men. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see that this actually wasn’t a terrible movie. This movie could have gone the easy way out and done scene after scene of naked guys, but this actually attempted character development/complex characters, so good for them. Channing Tatum will never win an Oscar, but he seemed comfortable in this part. Plus, it was also nice to see him dance, which we haven’t really since Step Up, and forgot how good he is. Although, it was a little obvious that the rest of the guys couldn’t quite keep up with him in the group number that they had. Matthew McConaguhey is a highlight (no surprise there though). His character is really funny and a little crazy. I will say, Alex Pettyfer fell a little flat for me. I wasn’t blown away. Also, the script would switch from nice moments of naturalistic dialogue, to clunky one liners that just didn’t work at all. Overall, it’s not revolutionary or anything, but it gets across its point of learning when to let things go/growing up, while at the same time, showing off some amazing abs.

5.5/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Magic Mike

  1. tiagojrricardo

    June 10, 2014 at 10:43 pm

    From the moment I’ve heard about this one, I wanted to watch it and see how bad this was going to be. I convinced my girlfriend to watch it with me and eventhough it seems wierd, I liked the movie more than her. It was not a great movie but it was definetly better than I was expecting. Good review!

     
    • jeleff11

      June 11, 2014 at 5:06 pm

      Thanks!
      My thoughts exactly. It surpassed my zero expectations for it haha

       

Leave a Reply

 
