RSS

22 Jump Street

15 Jun

22 jump streetAfter making their way through high school (twice), big changes are in store for officers Schmidt and Jenko when they go deep undercover at a local college. (IMDb)

I enjoy a good bro-comedy. Especially Apatow. But I will admit, when the first one came out, I was skeptical. But when I finally watched it, I was pleasantly surprised with how funny it was. But when I heard about the sequel, I was again skeptical. But, turns out I was laughing my ass off for almost the entire movie. Exactly like the first time. But here’s the thing. It was a really funny script on its own, but what really set it apart was how self-aware it was. The whole scene in Nick Offerman’s office is absolute genius. Along with other fun one-liners like “look at the Captain’s office, it looks like a cube of ice” (about Ice Cube’s character’s office). These are two of my favorite roles I’ve seen Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill in, and it was fun to see them in them again. It does take a good 20 minutes to really get into the plot, and not every single joke is a winner, but I was laughing solidly throughout, an accomplishment for any sequel.

7.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
