RSS

The Master

24 Jul

MV5BMTgxMjY1OTk4MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTQ3NDMxOQ@@._V1_SY317_CR6,0,214,317_AL_

A heavy-drinking loner finds some semblance of a family when he stumbles onto the ship of Lancaster Dodd, the charismatic leader of a new “religion.” (Netflix)

This was interesting. This is one of those movies that just drops you in on something and doesn’t explain a whole lot about the world. Normally, I don’t like that. I think it distances the audience. But for some reason, I didn’t mind as much with this. Yeah, there were things I still don’t quite get, the pace is a little slow, and there was terminology that the characters knew but we didn’t, but I was much more focused on the people. These are some insanely fascinating characters. Having them well-acted doesn’t hurt either. Philip Seymour Hoffman is so engaging, always has been. You can’t help but get on his character’s side throughout this. Joaquin Phoenix was also fascinating to watch, his character was so complex it was hard to wrap my head around it. I also really liked Amy Adams as Hoffman’s wife. One of my favorite moments of the whole movie was this part where she’s saying this mini-monologue about being accepted by people in the city, and it’s underscored by Hoffman typing and some music. I don’t know what it was, but it was so incredibly engaging. This is one I think needs multiple viewings to even begin to fully understand everything that’s going on, and I think it deserves those repeat watches.

8/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
