RSS

Frankenweenie

30 Aug

MV5BMjIxODY3MjEwNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTMzNjc4Nw@@._V1_SX214_AL_

Young Victor conducts a science experiment to bring his beloved dog Sparky back to life, only to face unintended, sometimes monstrous, consequences. (IMDb)

Here’s the thing. I don’t do well when dogs die in movies. I just don’t. And this was not any better. The dog dying is kind of the plot of the whole movie yet there I was sobbing like a complete idiot over this cartoon dog. Twice. Thanks Tim Burton. Anyway, I actually did enjoy this. It’s fun and campy. When I wasn’t crying I was laughing. There are a lot of really fun easter eggs for classic horror movie buffs. I’m not one and I still caught some really fun stuff. One of the funniest side characters was “Weird Girl”. She’s this creepy girl who talks in a high pitched whisper and has the hugest eyes of any Tim Burton movie. And she is hilarious. Also, being voiced by Catherine O’Hara doesn’t hurt. Also, I’m pretty sure that if you were to take the town in the movie out of black and white, it would be filled with pastel colored houses…(anyone else think it looked like the town from Edward Scissorhands?) So, this was a really pleasant surprise for me. I wasn’t expecting to like it as much as I did. But I’m glad I watched it.

7/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
