RSS

The Normal Heart

30 Aug

MV5BMTcyODYyOTk3M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDkwNjc3MTE@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_

A gay activist attempts to raise HIV/AIDS awareness during the early 1980s. (IMDb)

I wanted to read the play first, but I also wanted to watch this before the Emmys….The second one won.

Anyway, I was looking forward to this because I had heard nothing but good things. And I agree with everything I heard for the most part. It’s a heart breaking story that really focuses on the beginning of the AIDS epidemic. For example, it’s called “gay cancer” for the first half hour. The acting is really good. Mark Ruffalo made me love and hate Ned, the main character all at the same time, so good for him. Julia Roberts was fantastic as the doctor. But who really stole it for me was Jim Parsons as one of the guys who helps out the Gay Men’s Health Crisis group. The Rolodex monologue that he has killed me. I actually he wished he won the Emmy for this instead of Big Bang Theory. I will say, for me, some parts dragged, others got a little too melodramatic and I think some of the characters were yelling at each other a little too much. But, I still think this was a really solid adaptation of a play, and totally deserved that best tv movie Emmy.

7.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
