RSS

Up in the Air

19 Dec

With a job traveling around the country firing people, Ryan Bingham enjoys his life living out of a suitcase, but finds that lifestyle threatened by the presence of a new hire and a potential love interest. (IMDb)

The only other Jason Reitman movie I’ve seen is Juno (which I liked. There I said it. I even own it.) But I really liked this because it was more mature. An interesting story, and it does make you think about your own lifestyle. Could I live out of a suitcase? Could I not really have a home? At the end (spoiler alert) seeing him have the potential and the drive to change and then have that not happen is really sad to watch. George Clooney can always play the suave, charming, but also tad assholeish business man, no complaints there. The two performances I really enjoyed were Vera Farmiga and Anna Kendrick. They were foils of each other and the scene where they share their different perspectives on career, and dream guy is really interesting. There’s also parts of this that are really funny as well. So, this is an adult comedy. Not the raunchy kind, but rather a comedy about real, adult, life, that is worth a watch if you haven’t done so already.

7.5/10

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Up in the Air

  1. Caz

    December 19, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    What about the twist with Farmiga’s character, that really broke my heart!

     
    • jeleff11

      December 20, 2014 at 6:29 pm

      Right? I truly didn’t see that coming. I was expecting the typical happy ending, but this really took me by surprise.

       
      • Caz

        December 20, 2014 at 8:28 pm

        Yeah totally, it was an absolute curve ball!

         
  2. devnicsmith

    December 19, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    I really enjoy this movie, particularly it’s sort-of-un-happy ending. It’s witty and interesting, and I revisit it often! Great review!

     
    • jeleff11

      December 20, 2014 at 6:31 pm

      Thanks! I thought the un-happy ending made it much more realistic, because all the clues led me to believe that’s what was happening, but I really think the ending sets it apart.

       

Leave a Reply

 
