RSS

The Lost Boys

22 Jun

MV5BMjE2NTAxNDM5OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjg0NzQxMTE@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_After moving to a new town, two brothers are convinced that the area is frequented by vampires. (IMDb)

So this is one of those cult movies that I’m supposed to have seen by now but haven’t gotten around to it. Well, I got cast in a gender flipped parody of it so I needed to get on it and figure out what I had gotten myself into.

Anyway, I thought it was fun. Super campy, kind of cheesy, everything an 80s movie should be. The big fight scene at the end was disgustingly amazing. It was also really fun seeing how young those actors were. Kiefer Sutherland,  Dianne Wiest, Corey Feldman, Edward Herrmann (RIP). There was definitely some eye rolling happening at certain points (like Star’s entire character) and some parts were a little slow, but overall, this is big dumb fun.

6.5/10

Note: Is on Netflix!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Lost Boys

  1. indiefan20

    January 1, 2016 at 9:43 pm

    This was the first horror movie I ever saw, I was twelve. SO even though it’s uber cheesy and the acting’s spotty in a few places this has a nostalgia factor for me. My dad HATES Star, whenever the main character asks her name and she says “Star” in that lame-ass voice, my dad imitates her and bats his eyes and does her stupid head jiggle. My favorite character was the Grandpa, wish I had one just like him! And Nanook of course. The Hound from Hell (Thorn) looks a lot like my old German Shepherd/ Chow Chow mix Sandy. 😛

     
    • jeleff11

      January 2, 2016 at 1:04 am

      I think either The Ring or Sleepy Hollow (the Johnny Depp one) was the first horror movie I saw.

      I totally get the nostalgia factor of it. When we did the show, a lot of people said seeing our version made them want to go and watch the original too haha.
      But I really can’t handle Star. The whole damsel in distress thing from her is so fake haha. But Grandpa is the best!

       
      • indiefan20

        January 2, 2016 at 1:30 am

        I like both “Sleepy Hollow” and “The Ring,” REALLY like Naomi Watts, I want to see “Ringu” but haven’t gotten the chance yet. What’s your favorite horror film?

         
  2. jeleff11

    January 2, 2016 at 6:16 pm

    Here’s my thing. Horror movies aren’t really my thing. I get why people love them, but I think it’s because I don’t really like being scared haha. Also, most of them get formulaic for me.

    BUT. When a good one arises that breaks the mold, I normally give it a shot.
    So, I’m going to say Cabin in the Woods. I think it’s brilliant and transcends not only the horror genre, but a few other ones as well.
    What about you @indiefan20?

     
  3. juniorchillsofficial

    February 17, 2016 at 8:35 pm

    Mentioned The Lost Boys in my most recent post…could be something you may be interested in although by the link I have added it may not look like it but give it a look in….you may be pleasantly surprised 🙂 https://juniorchills.wordpress.com/2016/02/16/adele-hello-cover/

     
    • jeleff11

      February 18, 2016 at 1:54 pm

      Hah! Yup I know that reference!

       

Leave a Reply

 
