RSS

Spring Breakers

25 Jun

MV5BNDE3MDQzMDA5OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTUxNTgxOQ@@._V1_SX214_AL_Four college girls hold up a restaurant in order to fund their spring break vacation. While partying/drinking/taking drugs they are arrested only to be bailed out by a drug and arms dealer. (IMDb)

This was fascinating to watch. I don’t know if I “liked” it, but it held my attention the entire time. The whole movie takes place in this neon, black lit haze, making jumps back and forth through time. This movie could take place in a few days, or a month. No idea. Honestly, it doesn’t matter. The movie plays out more like a series of happening or events rather than actual scenes. It gets to the point where the main characters mugging a bunch of people while Britney Spears’ “Everytime” plays makes total sense. The feeling and atmosphere of the movie prevailed, which I think was what director Harmony Korine was going for. The cast is impressive. The four girls (Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Benson, and Rachel Korine) are quite good, but James Franco really steals it. It’s a really bold and multi-layered performance, which you wouldn’t expect with that kind of character. Now, the reason I didn’t “like” it: I could care less about the four main characters. I found them vapid and annoying. They were the girls that annoyed the crap out of me in college. Like I said, the actresses who were playing those parts played them well, and I liked their sort of descent from being college girls to being criminals. But for me, this was more about the experience of watching, rather than the movie itself.

6.5/10

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
