RSS

The Big Short

24 Feb

MV5BMjM2MTQ2MzcxOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzE4NTUyNzE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_Four denizens in the world of high-finance predict the credit and housing bubble collapse of the mid-2000s, and decide to take on the big banks for their greed and lack of foresight. (IMDb)

Nominations: Best Picture, Supporting Actor (Christian Bale), Directing (Adam McKay), Film Editing, and Adapted Screenplay.

So, I’m the first one to admit that I do not understand finance in the slightest. I barely understood Wolf of Wall Street. It’s just not something I can wrap my head around. And while this movie was still over my head, they told me that that was ok, no one knows what the hell finance is about. That’s what I really enjoyed about this movie. The way it just unabashedly shits on the entirety of Wall Street. Even our main characters are not heroes. They’re just smarter than everyone else. If anything, we should dislike them more because they profited on the recession. I give a lot of credit to Adam McKay, who normally makes very different movies, because this one may resonate the most. It’s well acted, it’s funny, it’s also not so funny. (The part when the bubble actually bursts was legitimately scary to me. The mass chaos of it all.) On the funny side of things, I was a big fan of the fourth wall breaks. They were just so well-done. At the end of the day, do I completely understand mortgage bonds? Nope. But did I enjoy this movie? Yes.

7.5/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Big Short

  1. Leonard

    February 29, 2016 at 10:56 pm

    First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had a quick question which
    I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to find
    out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing.

    I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.

    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Cheers!

     
    • jeleff11

      March 4, 2016 at 1:49 pm

      This may sound funny, but I let those 10-15 minutes be wasted. Sometimes just scrolling through Facebook can get rid of writer’s block, because you’re not thinking so hard about what to write. It may just come naturally to you.
      I also free write everything that’s on my mind, and then I go back and edit. That’s more of a personal process, but maybe you’ll find it helpful.

      Happy writing!

       

Leave a Reply

 
