RSS

Florence Foster Jenkins

25 Feb

mv5bmja0mzc4mjmxml5bml5banbnxkftztgwodiwntqxode-_v1_uy268_cr00182268_al_The story of Florence Foster Jenkins, a New York heiress who dreamed of becoming an opera singer, despite having a terrible singing voice. (IMDb)

Nominations: Leading Actress (Meryl Streep) and Costume Design

So, I love Meryl. But I remember seeing the premise for this movie, seeing that it was a fluff, cute, commercial film, and thinking “this was her 20th Oscar nomination?” But you know what? I get it. She took this fluff piece and really elevated it to something with heart. She hilarious and heartbreaking all at the same time. I don’t know why I doubted her. I should have known better. The rest of the film is pleasant enough. Hugh Grant is charming, the costumes are super fun, the singing scenes are really funny. Nina Arianda is a scene stealer as a socialite’s newest wife. I’ll be honest though, I was not digging whatever Simon Helberg was doing. If that’s how the man really was, ok fine. But I felt he was playing a caricature while every one else was playing characters. Anyway, this is a pleasant enough diversion.

6.5/10

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Florence Foster Jenkins

  1. Scribbling Geek

    February 25, 2017 at 9:27 am

    So I read, Meryl actually risked damaging her vocals to mimic that singing. I think that alone deserves respect.

     
    • jeleff11

      February 25, 2017 at 4:54 pm

      Interesting! When they played the recording of the real Florence in the credits, I was amazed at how much Meryl sounded like the real woman. And now that I think about it, I’m not surprised that singing that way could have been damaging.

       

Leave a Reply

 
